Socius

Upgrading to SharePoint 2013: Upgraded Sites vs. Fresh Team Sites

Email | Print

When it’s time to make to the move from SharePoint 2010 to SharePoint 2013, the site you see when you upgrade might not be the site you were expecting.

In a recent post on the Microsoft SharePoint Team Blog, Bojana Duke, a SharePoint Program Manager breaks down some of the differences between what you’ll see when you upgrade your site vs. when you create a fresh team site.

Microsoft knows that you have spent considerable time and effort customizing your SharePoint site and organizing your content in the manner that best fits your organizational needs.  Therefore, they have also put in the time to make sure that you can retain your content and site structure when you upgrade.  In order to preserve your content structure during an upgrade, many of the new features that you may want to leverage in SharePoint 2013 will not be enabled by default.

When you upgrade your current site, the following will NOT be present by default:

  • New master page with clean and simple design and new visual styles used to format text in your site
  • Increased Site Logo space available
  • Minimized ribbon so that you can focus on your content
  • A global navigation bar which appears on every page of every site to help people find their way around
  • The “Settings” menu represented by a gear icon in the top-right corner of the screen which is replacing the “Site Actions” menu
  • Expanded set of “Quick Actions” icons now located on the right side of the page
  • New “Edit Links” command available to enter a quick editing mode for making changes to the site navigation

If, however, you decide to create a fresh team site in SharePoint 2013, you’ll notice several new features that weren’t available on your upgraded site, including:

  • Graphic “Getting Started” tiles which replace the “Getting Started” links in 2010 and provide shortcuts to several common actions, like sharing your site and applying a theme
  • A Site Notebook leveraging Microsoft OneNote
  • A Site Newsfeed that gives users an “at-a-glance” update on what is going on across the organization or on their specific projects
  • Streamlined navigation and the ability to update and organize your navigation quickly through the “Edit Links” command
  • List and Library forms open in a full page, instead of in a dialog box
  • The default permission level for all users is “Edit”
  • Share with “Everyone” or “Everyone excluding external users” instead of managing complex permissions
  • Minimal Download Strategy (MDS) which helps pages to perform faster and more smoothly by downloading only content that has changed as you move from page to page

To learn how to turn all of these functions on so that you can use them on your upgraded site, reference the original post on the Microsoft SharePoint Team Blog.

If you have any other questions about upgrading to SharePoint 2013, please contact us today!

By Socius, a SharePoint Partner in Ohio, Kansas and South Carolina

Related Posts



Ask This Expert a Question or Leave a Comment