Add Video and Graphics

Email | Print

In a previous article on Windows Exchange, we looked at the evolution of Windows Exchange from an e-mail client to a powerful Exchange Server 2010 with unified communication services. We concluded with the remark that certain steps can help reduce the complexity of managing the complex server infrastructure and make administrator and user experiences pleasing ones. In this article we look at the organization of the Exchange Server in your setup.

Let us start with a look at the Server Roles in Windows Exchange 2010. There five roles: Mailbox Server (MBS), Client Access Server (CAS), Unified Messaging Server (UMS), Hub Transport Server (HTS) and Edge Transport Sever (ETS).

  • The Mailbox Server hosts a lot of data and information including, among others, the Exchange 2010 store, e-mail address policies, address lists and inbox rules.
  • The Client Access Server hosts client protocols such as POP3 and IMAP, and also the Web services.
  • The Unified Messaging Server, connected to a PBX, is the infrastructure that puts all e-mail and voice messages into one mailbox that can be accessed from many devices.
  • The Hub Transport Server is a mail routing server that routes mail within the organization handling mail flow, routing and delivery.

  • Keyword Rich Text

    keyword Rich Text

  • The Edge Transport Server is also a mail routing server that routes mail in and out of the organization. Sitting as it does at the perimeter of the organization, it has to handle Antivirus and Anti-spam functionalities based on how the user has configured these.

Related Posts

One question

Ask This Expert a Question or Leave a Comment